The village first appeared in the Early Middle Ages, when it was one of the towns held by the Aldobrandeschi family; then it was ruled by the Lambardisand by the Appianis of Piombino until 1815.
Recently a small Museo has been established that is open when the parish priest is present, that contains historical pieces from the area. The village is like stepping back in time with a level of tranquility far removed from modern days. Around the village there are a few things to see, the church of Santa Maria Assunta is the main parish church of the village, it was first written about in an act of 1051. Also close by is the Hermitage of San Guglielmo (16th century), located in the woods south of the village, it was built in 1597 by priest Giovanni Nicolucci in the place where, according to legend, Virgin Mary appears to saint William of Maleval. With stunning views across to the Amiata Mountain and the countryside around, it is worth exploring the village and having a look in the small museo to find out about the history of the area. There is currently a display around the village of historical photos showing village residents in the recent past.